My Journey to RKC II — Part 1: My Training

July 7, 2011 at 4:21 pm Leave a comment

How I prepared for RKC II

A special Thank you to Master RKC, David Whitley for your instruction and encouragement in my preparation for RKC Level II!

Training Started –January 2011
1. Kettlebll trainng – 3 days per week, focusing on all level I drills
2. Sntach Test – 16kg or 20kg – performed 1x per week
3. 15:15 heavy swings for 10 minutes (20 rounds), started using 24kg, worked up to 36kg and tapered back to using 28kg.
4. 15:15 Snatches – started with 20 rounds, worked up to 80 rounds with 16kg and tapered off the last month of training

January 2011: I started learning technique on Pistol, C&J, Windmill and Bent Press

    The Pistol

Performed high rep drills using TRX and agility boxes for assistance. I performed ladders 10-1 for 3 weeks. Once I was comfortable with the skill and pistol technique, I would do pistol ladders mixed with my Press / Pull training.

    Bent Press , Windmill & Clean & Jerk

Learning these techniques were a little challenging and out of the box for me, but Master Level instruction from Dave Whitley, MRKC on these skills got me on the right track. I continued to practice these performing 2-3 rounds of 3-5 reps every week.

    THE PULL UP & MP

March 2011 – June 2011: I continued to practice Pistol, C&J, Windmil and Bent press with a few reps per week, while my main focus was to get comfortable with a bodyweight pull up. The pull up seemed to be my biggest challenge to passing RKC Level II.

One of my goals since completing RKC Level I was to be able to perform a solid 20kg MP. Although a 20kg was not required for my bodyweight to pass level II it was personal goal for me to achieve prior to attending level II. Following the already established ETK and RTK program design, I am now able to press the 20kg. Patience to allow the program work was the hardest part!

I started my work on the Pull Up and MP in March 2011 adding a day 4 to my weekly practice. I spent two hours every Saturday following Enter The Kettlebell type program design with Press / Pull ladders. My press work consisted of 16kg single presses, 16kg double presses, 12-14kg bottoms up presses.

In between ladders I focused on FMS stability drills. I incorporated ladders of leg lowering drills with core engagement during my Press/ Pull practice.

During my last month I started to supplement my practice with a few Heavy (28kg-32kg) Get-ups / Cleans (24kg-28kg) every week.

    Final Training week:

Monday – Final Press/ Pull ladders
Tuesday – 25 minutes ropes and Kettlebell Deadlifts – 30:15
Wednesday – 16 – 16kg, 4- 20kg, 2- 24kg TGU
Thursday – REST
Friday – Sunday – RKC Level II

Now it’s go time…..Stay tuned for weekend updates!

Entry filed under: Kettlebells, RKC, Training and Workouts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Hot News from Dragon Door TV My Journey to RKC II – Part 2

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other subscribers

Tennessee Kettlebell

Russian Kettlebell Certified Instructor

RKC Instructor- Get Certified

Buy Kettlebells Here

Be Strong Be Amazing- KettleBells for Women

Calendar

July 2011
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tennessee Kettlebell Fan Page

Kettlebell Goddess

KettleBell Goddess DVD Plus Kettlebell

Better Workout Better Results

Enter The Kettlebell From Russia With Tough Love TENNESSEE KETTLEBELL

GET HKC Certified

HKC Certification

RKC Certification Workshops — Register Today!

Become an Elite Trainer